Skip to content

Show & Tell: Mr. Hudson – White Lies

September 12, 2009

NOT the dude from Powder

So last night, like all of Twitter, I was watching the live stream and tweeting part of the Jay-Z September 11 tribute concert at Madison Square Garden. I’ll save that for another post, but as I was looking over my Twitter feed this morning, I noticed that my last concert-centric tweet was about Mr. Hudson who guests on the The Blueprint 3‘s Alphaville-sampling “Young Forever.” Over the past year or so, we’ve become familiar with Hudson (Mr. Hudson’s front man) as the latest addition to Kanye’s coterie of artists and collaborators. On 808s & Heartbreaks he co-wrote the Death-Cab-ish “Street Lights” and featured on one of my favourite tracks, “Paranoid” (which incidentally was also one of my favourite video singles too: the combination of gratuitous Rihanna shots at that time in her life was a weirdly semi-genius move to me). Kanye has even claimed Hudson has the potential to be a bigger artist than him (an uncharacteristically bold comment for ‘Ye). At the very least, with guest spots on two major hip-hop albums, he could qualify as the new Chris Martin when it comes to British-singing-sidekicks for big-name rappers.

I like Hudson because he reminds me of Jamie Lidell: big, emotive voice, good sense of rhythm, interesting production. He has the ability to make what he’s singing sound really epic. I’d love to hear a collabo between him and Kid Cudi. Mr. Hudson’s solo Straight No Chaser is executive produced by Kanye and drops mid-October. Check out “White Lies” after the jump

One Comment leave one →
  1. Simon permalink*
    September 14, 2009 12:43 am

    Hadn’t heard this before, but it’s definitely catchy in that prototypical Kanye manner.

Leave a Reply

