Skip to content

Ain’t no fun (if I can’t hear none)

September 18, 2009
by
snoop_dogg

Snoop clearly packs for the elements

This past Wednesday, I had the privilege of being invited to a listening party for Snoop’s upcoming album Malice N Wonderland. I’m going to get Universal off my back from the jump: this post isn’t about leaking songs or giving away any secrets because I basically didn’t hear shit thanks to an ultra-loud system blasting the bass-heavy hip-hop. However, I was in the same room as Snoop and therefore must blog.

Not due until the holiday season, and with an unfinalized tracklisting, the little I heard of Malice still seems to bumps in the same way R&G: Rhythm and Gangsta or Ego-Trippin does: its party music over ultra-modern “urban” production designed to maximize the velvety smoothness that is Snoop’s voice. Guest appearances are supposed to be made by Brandy, Jazmine Sullivan, The Dream along with producer Nottz, Dr. Dre, et al.

The record seems to function in the same way as its predecessors: to preserve the West Coast rapper’s name in the hip-hop canon. Judging by the way Snoop was clutching his blunt, gracefully bouncing to the eight-or-so songs that I heard, he’s feeling it. Judging from the assemblage of mostly-industry-types clutching drinks and yakking madly, it doesn’t really matter anyway.

And, also for the record, I only heard one vaguely G-Funk-sounding track on the album. While passing me a bottle of Grey Goose and motioning that I help myself, his bodyguard yelled over the music “this is my favourite track!” (Yeah, that’s the closest I got to an interview with Snoop), signaling that people still have an affinity for authentic Snoop. Even if he doesn’t himself.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Simon permalink*
    September 20, 2009 7:50 pm

    You breathed his second hand joint smoke. That’s a story for the grandkids.

Leave a Reply

