Skip to content

David Letterman confesses to having sex with female staffers

October 2, 2009

Talk about something utterly confounding and completely unexpected. David Letterman, in a ten-minute segment on his show, admitted to being blackmailed for two million dollars for having sex with female staffers.

There are a lot of interesting things to think about with this. One being the fact that Letterman decided to beat all tabloids to the punch and confess on national TV. Considering the guy who was blackmailing Letterman has been arrested, I guess he figured the info would get out soon enough. I won’t go into details, as the video clip says it all, but I can definitely see a big divide in the public opinion on this.

Do we accept Letterman’s apology for its revealing, humorous and personable explanation? Or do we metaphorically stone him for being a hypocrite, making his money all these years off of punch lines aimed at the people who have basically done the same thing he is admitting to?

Personally, I’m torn. Yes, he admitted to it before it was leaked, but only because he knew it would get out eventually. So does this make it any better? Will it stop the masses from prying more info out of it (how old were the female staffers, did he use his power to exploit them, isn’t he married, etc…?).  If Bill Clinton or Elliot Spitzer were funny and had a late night talk show as a soap box, would people have accepted their situations more?

So many questions.

 

7 Comments leave one →
  1. October 2, 2009 11:09 am

    That Letterman made that as entertaining as he did shows how great he is at this job. Crazy awkward, great television.

    What’s to accept though? Really, he doesn’t owe any one of us an apology. And I swear, if even one person in the universe who defends Polanski gets on Letterman’s case over this, I’ll probably straight up lose my shit. Stick a fork in me etc etc.

  2. jessekg permalink*
    October 2, 2009 11:13 am

    I’m with you Jef, and I like how he handled it, but people regularly lose their jobs over this.
    Just because someone is a charming and funny talk show host or a respected director, does that make it any different than if they’re a sleezy politician? Just being devil’s advocate.

  3. October 2, 2009 11:52 am

    Word, but let’s be clear here: Spitzer and Polanski are criminals. I am one thousand per cent against Polanski’s defenders. And Spitzer’s too, if he has any.

    The Clinton impeachment trials was a moralistic witch hunt with political motivations. If people think Clinton’s a sleazeball, that’s fair, but that’s none of my business and I will never put him in that same basket. Distinctions are important here.

    Losing jobs? If CBS enforces rules about sleeping with co-workers, then sure I guess. But really, I know where you’re going with this, and as of yet there is no reason to believe this is a case of coercion or sexual harassment. I don’t tend to think off the bat that every woman who has sex is a victim.

    Rules about dating/sleeping with co-workers were invented in large part to reduce possibilities of workplace harassment. There are power dynamics there that I recognize. But still, given that, sleeping with a co-worker or even an employee is not necessarily the same thing as sexual harassment or abuse of power. I’ve hooked up with co-workers, as have millions of people. Consensual sex, like shit, happens. Until this becomes something else, it’s his wife’s business.

    But shit, I’m reacting to a storm that hasn’t happened yet. What ARE people saying?

  4. October 2, 2009 12:10 pm

    Let’s just hope this doesn’t turn into a sex tape scandal. *shiver*

  5. Simon permalink*
    October 2, 2009 2:35 pm

    “Top Ten reasons I had sex with my employees”?

    Anyone? Anyone?

  6. jessekg permalink*
    October 2, 2009 4:35 pm

    Gawker is just allll over this shit. They love it. bound to happen I guess.

  7. anupa permalink*
    October 2, 2009 7:07 pm

    I can’t watch the video because I’m on my phone (I can take TheAshcan with me everywhere!) But I think I’m in agreeance with you guys. It’s not a matter of Letterman being a charming guy-i think he did the right thing. Saved himself a shitload of media frenzy and speculation.
    If only more celebrities handled their biz like this: matter of fact and responsibly.

Leave a Reply

