Skip to content

Show & Tell: The XX – Shelter (Them Jeans edit)

October 5, 2009

the-xx

The XX: fighting pretentiousness one programmed blip at a time

The XX are the kind of band that hits you over your head with their youth. Like, when I listen to them I’m like “Damn, this is good. Why the hell couldn’t I be this prolific at 20?” Impending quarter-life crisis aside, England’s doing some good things with music and The XX are part of that nouveau pop movement. Their self-titled debut is littered with ultra lo-fi, soft-spoken, melodic and melodramatic gems and their level of musical sophistication is ridiculous (I don’t think it’s easy to make “quiet” music) and so completely relevant. My new favourite band, by far.

After the jump, check out “Shelter,” remixed by L.A. producer Them Jeans and the original. It’s a good introduction to their sound, but when you listen to the original you’ll be surprised at its sparsity.

The XX – Shelter (Them Jeans edit)

The XX – Shelter

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Jessekg permalink*
    October 5, 2009 10:59 am

    Nice. I like the original a lot. Not a big fan of dance mix anything, and think this sounds a lot better without that cheesy lounge beat.

  2. that bitch shauna permalink
    October 5, 2009 2:07 pm

    listening to this album before bed while high is my favorite thing to do besides watching wendy williams with haagen daaz…and one other thing..lol I’m seeing them on the 11th!

  3. Anupa permalink*
    October 5, 2009 2:13 pm

    Jesse-I LOL’d at “dance mix anything”-I actually really like the remix, it gives it a totally different vibe, without completely overdoing/undoing the song.

    Shauna-no words. they’re playing here dec. 2 (early bday present to myself!), i’m trying to bug exclaim into letting me interview them. i’ll probably want to slit my wrists after when they talk about being young and prolific.

  4. January 16, 2010 10:17 pm

    Thanks for posting ‘The xx’ – shelter (Them Jeans Remix) video i uploaded.

Leave a Reply

