Skip to content

Is Natalie Portman slyer than a Fox?

October 27, 2009
Natalie Portman

Natalie Portman, acting a fool on "Saturday Night Live"

Today in a Huffington Post review of the new Jonathan Safran Foer book, Eating Animals, actress Natalie Portman wrote of her decision to switch from vegetarianism to what she calls “activist” veganism. Which would have been innocuous, had she not used rape apologists as her analogy for omnivore fence-sitting:

I say that Foer’s ethical charge against animal eating is brave because not only is it unpopular, it has also been characterized as unmanly, inconsiderate, and juvenile. But he reminds us that being a man, and a human, takes more thought than just “This is tasty, and that’s why I do it.” He posits that consideration, as promoted by Michael Pollan in The Omnivore’s Dilemma, which has more to do with being polite to your tablemates than sticking to your own ideals, would be absurd if applied to any other belief (e.g., I don’t believe in rape, but if it’s what it takes to please my dinner hosts, then so be it).

Rape as meat-eating would have been a contentious way to limn Portman’s point even if she wasn’t a signatory on the so-called “Free Polanksi” petition but, of course, she is. (Which totally confuses me about this burger I’m about to rape, but hey, I never went to an Ivy League school.)

Portman — who is often hailed as the thinking-man’s beauty because she went to Harvard and pops up in Wes Anderson shorts — has come under fire for pseudo-intellectual musings before, once claiming that she understood what it’s like to be black because W.E.B. Dubois’s concept of ‘double-consciousness’ applied to her life as an actress and celebrity.

Meanwhile, quintessential dumb-man’s crush Megan Fox continues to be condemned as stupid because she thinks Micheal Bay is a megalomaniac and says people are intimidated by her confident sexuality, even though both of those things are absolutely true. Which maybe means, at least when it comes to picking your celebrity crushes, that dumb is the new smart — a fine bit of mindfuck tomfoolery right up Portman’s alley.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Simon permalink*
    October 27, 2009 11:46 pm

    Radical chic my friend.

    Also, she is my celeb crush because she is more attractive than Megan Fox. Let’s not complicate matters.

  2. chris permalink
    October 28, 2009 1:09 am

    I’m a big lover of lovely gals – intelligent, empathetic, sophisticated, pleasant looking – which brings me to my confusion with Nat Portman. Overtly privileged with shit politics and a great make up artist, I’ve met more impressive people in grad school who can act better. Keep up with the fucked up definitions of rape – since meat eating is so similar to the act, but Polanksi’s force on a drugged up 13 year old should be free from scrutiny. You know who else went to Harvard? Ashley Banks from The Fresh Prince of Bel-Air. And she’s actually black.

  3. Jesse permalink*
    October 28, 2009 8:29 am

    Wait, but I like Portman and Fox. I mean, obviously one of them puts out way better movies, but just as girls, it’s different. What’s wrong with me?

  4. Simon permalink*
    October 28, 2009 11:17 am

    http://www.funnyordie.com

    “Between two ferns, Natalie Portman”

    I promise you will not regret it.

  5. that bitch shauna permalink
    October 29, 2009 2:34 pm

    Um has she ever said anything about justice regarding her fellow human beings?? Maybe in her native Israel…. Ho sit down.

    PS I’m amused by conflict that you smart boys (I’m willing to assume) feel about liking ‘dumb,’ hot chicks vs. smart, really attractive (celebrity?) chicks.

  6. October 29, 2009 4:58 pm

    Yeah, sorry for turning this into a blog version of “Would you rather…” Megan Fox’s appeal used to miss me, but after watching a bunch of interviews to get caught up on all the “stupid” things she says, I found none of it to be that stupid at all. If anything, I think she’s kinda perceptive and often funny. The hate she gets, when combined with the continued love Portman receives for being “smart”, just gets to me. Originally this post was on some larger feminist type rant about beauty and brains, but it got out of hand, and I know my lane. To those who don’t know though, commenter “Chris” is a female, if that changes how you read the responses.

    And Shauna, I’ve heard Portman’s written some essays about Israel/Palestine, but something tells me I don’t want to read.

  7. November 11, 2009 2:15 pm

    Natalie Portman’s an elitist. She’s been a celebrity since she was 13. She has no scope of what real life is like, she merely visits the real world but clearly doesn’t exist there. Spending time in a space like the Harvard intellectual community doesn’t help. Therefore, it’s easy to write dissertations and have debates, because she doesn’t actually have to deal with any of the things she’s talking about.

    And like I always say, vegetarianism and veganism is all well and good for some of us, but some people actually don’t have a Whole Foods or a Raw to go to, and we don’t have personal chefs to cook us that shit.

Leave a Reply

