Skip to content

Trapping in Williamsburg

November 4, 2009

clipse-rickross-im-good-remix-video-1Clipse + Rick Ross: The likeliest of collabos, and still, so worth it

The Clipse are like the Hall & Oates of drug rap. Pusha T and Malice spit complex cartel tales with panache that renders them more charming than menacing. On the remix to the Neptunes produced “I’m Good,” Miami boss Rick Ross (whose Deeper Than Rap was one of this year’s most enjoyable records) steps in to add a little more star power as the duo ready their ridiculously anticipated third studio album  Till the Casket Drops.

I wasn’t going to post this song, because it’s not that special, but an interesting dialogue could be had based on this tweet from rap blogger Noz:

clipse

I get there’s mad hipster appeal in what, at times, might appear as caricature-style rap, but does that make the Clipse more marketable to Pitchfork’s audience than the BET crowd? Because they’ve always struck me as the kind of group that’s achieved a weird balance of appealing to the rap academe as well as a more widespread audience. I guess it does come back to the eternal question of how Clipse can get that money. And time again, when it comes to rap, we all know who buys the records.

And, for the record, I saw this video first via NahRight, but I’m not really checking for Pitchfork like that.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Simon permalink*
    November 4, 2009 8:12 pm

    I’ve always been a fan of The Clipse, which in my mind gives credence to the theory that they broke through and have been embraced by the hipster crowd. I was not aware this was a mutually exclusive demographic from “Actual Rap Fans,” however.

    I like to think I’m totally down with the OPP, thank you very muchly.

  2. Anupa permalink*
    November 5, 2009 12:27 pm

    It’s not a mutually exclusive demographic. They’re slightly flamboyant which separates them enough from the crowd to branch out to a more mainstream audience (maybe this comes from their work with The Neptunes?) but they still have a pure rap sensibility that doesn’t isolate a core hip-hop audience.

    I think the new album will, sonically, be much more eclectic and radio-friendly but they can pull it off without going the BEP-route (who I’d say are widely loathed by anyone with a functional, independent brain).

  3. November 6, 2009 1:05 pm

    I mess with this joint. But Anupa, you gotta break down that Hall & Oates comparison for me. Not because I challenge it, but because I don’t know anything about Hall & Oates!

Leave a Reply

