Skip to content

Word up: Over-Gossiped Girl

November 20, 2009

I don’t know how it happened. At some point I went from thinking that socialites only existed in movies and New York City, to literally reading about Toronto “socialite” Ainsley Kerr every friggin time I check my email.

First it was this piece from Eye Weekly, which isn’t necessary to read because I can sum it up in a few sentences: A blogger who seems to write less for the purpose of writing and more for the purpose of stirring shit up so people will write about her, penned a catty dis to Kerr which caused a bit of a brawl on the comments board. I’m not even sure why the article was published in the first place, or why I linked to it above, because it’s seems to me like it’s a case of petty jealousy directed  from one wanna-be socialite who is a journalist towards one wanna-be journalist who is a socialite.

Then there was my Toro newsletter which always includes photo shoots of well known women (well, well known for Canadian standards). Who was that woman this time? None other than Kerr (one of the photos is above), in a rather uninspiring and sometimes awkward spread. Yes she is attractive, yes she is a socialite (as ridiculous as that title is), but I don’t think she is as worthy, talent wise, as some of Toro’s other female photo subjects.

Then literally just a few minutes ago I checked my twitter feed and clicked on a link from a new blog that I was beginning to respect and enjoy and guess who I saw? Yup, Kerr again. Now, at least this post seemed more to mock than to celebrate Kerr’s ability to be attractive and rich at the same time (not an easy task, it’s like rubbing your stomach and patting your head at the same time), but the fact is, the more we write about it, the more we legitimize the whole idea that just because people come from money it’s enough to make us look up to them. Which actually brings me to this, where I ask you to forget everything I just wrote. And next time someone asks you if Toronto has any of it’s own socialites, just laugh and say “what? I thought they only existed in movies and New York City.”

Trust me, it’s better for us all.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Simon permalink*
    November 21, 2009 3:58 pm

    Isn’t it odd to be a socialite in a city where there isn’t much of a peer community? Who do you hang out with and gossip about? Does this girl have like, four friends then?

  2. Anupa permalink*
    November 22, 2009 9:28 am

    Simon – didn’t you hear? Toronto is the new LA. We have a wannabe complex here so I’m sure this city will turn to shit within the next five years. I can already see it happening.

    As an aside, I like Sarah Nicole Prickett. I mean, I was following her Paris fashion week tweets and they were great. She’s good at what she does and I think she’s paid her dues. Everyone is a celebrity/wants to be a celebrity now. Just wait til this blog blows up and I’m become the Gwen Stefani of The Ashcan. KIDDING, KIDDING.

    • Simon permalink*
      November 22, 2009 5:39 pm

      Well then it’s decided. I too am now a socialite.

      Wait, is there a male version of that word? According to google there is not.

      Yep, I’m a socialite.

  3. Jay H permalink
    November 27, 2009 1:12 am

    Ainsley is one of the nicest people i have ever met. she has done more for Canadian fashion then you will ever know and has raised more money for charity then you will ever have. Ainsley Kerr is a wondeful person who does good for others, there is no need for this sort of hate. Im sure this is all a result of Ms. Kerr reminding you of the kind of girl that turned you down in highschool.

    Best.

Leave a Reply

