Skip to content

Show & Tell: My Morning Jacket on American Dad

November 23, 2009

Even in cartoon form, Jim James could totally get it

I never watch American Dad. It’s probably boorish enough for my tastes but has totally failed to capture my attention every time I try to watch. Nonetheless, after a hilarious episode of Family Guy (in which it’s revealed that Quagmire secretly hates Brian) we let Am-Dad roll. It was only halfway through the show that I broke free from my stoner reverie only to see television imitating life–a psychedelic scene (see above image) with “Dad” tripping out to My Morning Jacket’s lo-fi banger “Touch Me, I’m Going To Scream (Part 2)”.

The premise was simple: Stan picks up his daughter from an MMJ concert and falls in love with Jim James’ angelic voice. He spends the rest of the episode (which was filled with song clips and nerd-calibre references to the band) obsessively  trying to meet James. It was basically the best episode of American Dad ever. Any non-My Morning Jacket fans see it? Thoroughly confused? Now equally as obsessed with Jim James as myself and Stan? Want a link to a clip? JUMP!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Simon permalink*
    November 23, 2009 3:44 pm

    I’ve always secretly wanted to be drawn into a cartoon.

    I must say I agree with your general consensus though in not being all that interested by this show. Throw in the Cleveland Show and it’s basically three times the same jokes every Sunday night. The only thing that makes Family Guy still funny is attachment to the characters, but I have no such inclination with the other shows.

  2. November 26, 2009 5:36 pm

    Yes. This episode was fantastic. And as for Family Guy, Quagmire’s rant against Brian was also amazing and also ON POINT. But yeah, these three shows in a row is overkill, I rarely tune in just because. I miss Futurama, btw.

  3. Anupa permalink*
    November 27, 2009 4:35 pm

    Maybe one day they’ll make a cartoon about bloggers. That would probably be the boringest/nerdiest cartoon ever. It would be an animated RSS feed.

Leave a Reply

