Skip to content

I’m a new old head

December 3, 2009

My budding quarter-life crisis has me waxing nostalgic about “the way things used to be”—seriously, I’ve used that phrase like 150 times in the past three weeks, ask my friends. Discovering that I am part of a budding generation of “old hip-hop heads” has shocked my system as I listen to tracks and albums that aren’t necessarily dated, but represent a different feeling and the last guard of rap.

Like, The Game’s “Hate It Or Love It.” I remember when The Documentary came out my boyfriend at the time was so into The Game (he made me obsessed with this song for a period of time). There were so many things I used to love about “Hate It Or Love It”: 50’s verse and the back and forth between the two, Little 50’s big-ass Queens ring, the hazy West Coast look of the video itself,  a mandatory N.W.A. shoutout and the “oh yeaaaah!” Lloyd Banks reference (where’d that guy go?), Cool & Dre’s breezy beat, and name-dropping Jacob just before Game goes “see how time fly” and they flash their wrists. Sigh, simpler times.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Anupa permalink*
    December 3, 2009 12:52 pm

    Man, I really love this song.

  2. December 4, 2009 1:12 pm

    I am listening to the Documentary RIGHT NOW. Thanks for reminding.

  3. December 4, 2009 2:06 pm

    Ohhh Jacob the Jeweller, the most famous man in hip hop. I always had issues with rappers bigging up Jacob though: black ppl, we love to consume and give everyone else the money but ourselves.

  4. Anupa permalink*
    December 4, 2009 2:50 pm

    The Documentary is a dope record. I’ve always had a soft spot for Game because of it.

    And what happened to Jacob? Is he still a jeweller? Who made T-Pain’s “BIG ASS CHAIN”?

Leave a Reply

